Star Wars: The Story So Far

Is your partner forcing you to watch the new Star Wars this weekend? Early reviews of The Last Jedi suggest that it’s going to be a smash hit at the Box Office this weekend, and personally I am SO excited. I love Star Wars, and I’m avidly trying to avoid the spoilers before I see it on Friday. However, I know that a lot of people either don’t care about it enough to watch the films, or just want to see it with their Star Wars mad friends/partners.

With that in mind, I thought I’d write up a spoiler-free (for the new film) timeline to the Star Wars franchise, and talk about where The Last Jedi fits into the canon…

Episode 1: The Phantom Menace


If you want to watch the Star Wars in chronological order, you should be starting with The Phantom Menace. Hated by many, this is where it all begins (for now – I say that as more Star Wars prequels are to be released. ANYWAY). The film begins by explaining that Obi-Wan Kenobi and his master Qui-Gon Jinn have been sent to settle a disagreement between the Trade Federation and Naboo. From there it all goes downhill, to be honest. This film introduces us to Obi-Wan, Anakin Skywalker, C3PO and R2-D2 chronologically in relation to the films. It also reveals who the Sith is, and shows us that Palpatine becomes the Supreme Chancellor of the Galactic Republic (grim).

Episode II: Attack of the Clones

This film is set 10 years after The Phantom Menace and shows us that Anakin has fallen in love with Padme. They end up married in secret, and it just gets worse if I’m honest. The Republic and the Separatist planets start a war, Palpatine (ultimate bad guy remember) has been given emergency powers over the Republic, and Anakin’s Mum is murdered. This is where we start to see a bad side to Anakin, something that only grows, as you’ll find out.


The Clone Wars

This, along with The Clone Wars TV Show, is an optional watch. You’ll still understand the story if you don’t watch these, but it does help if you do. Both the show and the film highlight the war between the Republic and the Separatists in more detail. For fans of Darth Maul, the show also highlights his return, as well as how Yoda figures out how to return as a Force Ghost.


Episode III: Revenge of the Sith


This film takes place 3 years after Attack of the Clones and shows Anakin in the midst of a really bad comedown. I mean really bad. The guy kills fellow Jedi (even baby Jedi!) and is left for dead by a betrayed Obi-Wan, who leaves him for dead. Spoiler alert, he doesn’t die. In fact, Anakin lives on to become Darth Vader and serve Palpatine.

This film also shows us the death of Padme during the birth of her and Anakin’s children, Luke and Leila, as well as the creation of the Empire. This is also the first movie in which we see Chewbacca.

UNNAMED Han Solo Movie

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Released last year, Rogue One is the first Star Wars spin-off movie. This is to fill in some gaps in the narrative of A New Hope and stars Felicity Jones as the protagonist. The narrative follows plans for the Death Star and explains how Leia obtains the plans to The Death Star, to begin with.

Episode IV: A New Hope

A New Hope introduces us to Luke and Leia as adults. Seperated at birth, Luke is an ordinary boy who is given a life of adventure. He meets Obi-Wan who soon becomes his mentor and meets Han Solo, Chewbacca and Leila (who lives as a princess) along the way. In this film, Obi-Wan is killed by Darth Vader, and the Death Star destroys Alderaan. The Rebels also destroy the first Death Star.

Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

The iconic “Luke, I am your father” line originates here, and Luke and Leia discover that Darth Vader is, in fact, their father. This is also the film where Luke meets Yoda, Han and Leia fall in love, and Han is frozen in carbonite. 

Episode VI: Return of the Jedi

The final part of this trilogy begins with an attempt to rescue Han from his carbonite tomb. The Rebellion also enters its final battle with the Empire, Leia kills Jabba the Hut and the second Death Star is destroyed. In this film we also see Darth Vader kill the Emporer in a weird turn of events. 

Episode VII: The Force Awakens

Set 30 years later, everything has gone downhill. A new resistance has been formed by General Leia in a bid to defeat Snoke, a leader of a new evil, The First Order.

This film also sees Finn, a rogue stormtrooper meet up with the strange Rey (we don’t know who she is exactly) in a bid to get Obi-Wan back on the front lines.

Spoiler alert: this film sees the death of Han Solo at the hands of his son, Kylo Ren, and Rey discovers her Force powers.

Episode VIII: The Last Jedi

And we’re up to date! The Last Jedi hit cinemas this week and will see Rey, Finn, Leia and others in a bid to save the galaxy from Snoke and the First Order…

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s